NSURS Students Receive Yarbrough Grants – September 2014


Congratulations to the below students for receiving a grant through the Yarbrough Foundation of the NC Academy of Sciences to support their undergraduate research.

Highest Recognition
Rebecca Johnson
Inter-individual Variance of the Metabolism of Chlorpyrifo via cyp450 Enzymes
Committee: Dana Emmert, John Brock, and Jeff Holmes

Brad Smout
Oyster Mushroom Mycelium filter to Degrade Bacteria and Atrazine in Water
Committee: Mark Brenner, Steve Cartier, and JJ Apodaca

Honorable Mention
Andrea LaPlante
Phenological Responses to Brassica oleracae to Increased Soil Temperature
Committee: Alisa Hove, Laura Lengnick, and Jessa Madosky

Brian Liechti
Assessing Active Organic Matter on the Warren Wilson College Farm
Committee: Laura Lengick, John Brock, and Jeff Holmes